Strength to Love

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/9

Sorry for the delay in posting but I have also been doing a series of Oscar-related blogs on our family blog.

But back to business.

In light of Valentine’s Day, Black History Month and the fact that I just finished reading it, I thought it would be great to discuss Strength to Love by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

This collection of sermons and essays has been around since 1963, so it’s had its fair share of cover designs, but this is the one I own and I think the best of the lot.

I think this is one of the best portraits of the late Dr. King. I love the nearly-chiaroscuro lighting, the shadows receding from the light, and the black-and-white tones that underscore the moral admonishments contained within its pages.

It’s difficult to design covers for books like this, which could be considered like a sort of Social Justice meets Weight of Glory. But I think this one is pretty great overall.

As for quality of the book itself, I’d give it an 8/10. It really is a must-read.

Leave a Reply

