Twilight

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/9

Before moving forward, allow me to reiterate that this blog is about judging book covers alone. Not the book itself.

Ahem.

Now that the heyday of this particular pop culture phenomenon is safely behind us, I feel it’s fair to bring up Twilight. I have never read it. I don’t plan to. One of these days, I do plan to rent the movie for my wife and I to watch on mute so we can make up our own dialogue.

Now that’s out of the way, I have to admit that Twilight has one of the best covers out there. The sheer simplicity of the pale white hands holding out a vibrant red apple from out of the black void is an inviting image of a pseudo-Biblical nature.

I’d go so far as to say anyone who has seen this cover and calls it a bad cover is either (a) lying to protect their supposed “literary” reputation, or (b) has a bad eye for artistry.

As for the books themselves, I have friends who have read them and say the following: “They’re terribly written. But I like the stories.”

Fair enough. Story is king.

Leave a Reply

