The House on Mango Street

I think it’s important to read books you normally wouldn’t. I really do. Even though you run the risk of not liking it.

That’s my story with Cisneros’ The House on Mango Street. While I don’t care for the book itself, I love this cover. It’s bright and colorful, giving off a Latin vibe to reflect the culture of its author/protagonist and I love the mango-hued letters scrawled across the flat-roof house.

It’s a cover that stands out, catches your attention and is utterly non-threatening but engaging at once. And though I don’t personally care for the book, it gave me an appreciation for Cisneros’ writing style and her cultural experiences. It’s an important and influential work for a lot of people of people and rightly so. There are other a couple other covers for it here and there, but this one is by far the best.

Leave a Reply

