The Orphan Master’s Son

This has been my favorite read of the year. Also one of my favorite covers in recent years.


In fact, seeing the cover in a bookstore was how I learned about the book in the first place. Lo and behold to my everlasting g surprise, I then noticed it had won the Pulitzer. It remained on my wish list from that moment until this year when I finally had the difficult pleasure of enjoying it.

What I love about this cover is the sparsity (is that a word?) of colors, and the fact that the title dominates the middle of the cover in thick, black even lettering. Knowing how the protagonist’s identity factors into the plot makes this particularly artful. I spent the first third of the book wondering how the tiger image factored into the design, and when this revelation was made, it gave me literary tingles of mirth. I won’t give it away here, but it’s thematically brilliant.

Great book that’s even better than its cover. It looks handsome on a shelf.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

